Home > About us > Governance


Lighthouse Learning Trust Governance

On 1 November 2017 we were granted academy status by the Secretary of State for Education and formed a multi-academy trust, known as the Lighthouse Learning Trust, in partnership with St Vincent College in Gosport.

The Lighthouse Learning Trust is strongly committed to achieving excellence in its governance and our Trustees have made this an explicit objective and responsibility of the Trust Board. To find out more about our approach, our structure and our members and trustees please follow the links below:

Our approach to governance

Our structure

Members & trustees

Local Governing Body

This is a sub-committee of the Trust board, which operates within the context of a written scheme of delegation. It supports and strengthens the leadership of our academy by holding our Head of College to account for the performance of students and staff, through challenge and the scrutiny of quality. It upholds and champions the Trust’s values and founding principles and is “the eyes and ears” of the Trust board. In addition, this body monitors the deployment of, and ensures adherence to, the Trust policies.

Members of our local governing body include:

Orla Sheehan Pundyke – Chair, Local Governing Body 

Orla is a professional higher education administrator, specialising in quality assurance. She is a Chemistry graduate of the University of Southampton and also began her career in higher education at the University of Southampton.

Claire Merritt – Local Governor (Vice Chair)

Claire is an employment solicitor and Partner at Paris Smith LLP in Southampton. She is a former student of Richard Taunton College.

Ali Foss – Local Governor

Ali is Principal of Queen Mary’s College in Basingstoke and is also a Trustee of the North Hampshire Education Alliance. Having graduated from Bristol University, Ali trained as a teacher and has lived in Southampton for many years.

Jason Hampton – Local Governor

Jason works for HSBC Global Asset Management and is responsible for the delivery of major business change programmes, including mergers and acquisitions.

Satvir Kaur – Local Governor

Satvir is a Southampton City Councillor for the Shirley Ward, and Cabinet Member for Homes and Culture. She is a graduate of both Southampton University and Southampton Solent University, and has a keen interest in tackling deprivation by supporting community projects.

Paul Need – Local Governor

Paul retired from a senior career in HR with the John Lewis Partnership and is a long-time supporter of Richard Taunton College. Paul also serves as a member of the Lighthouse Learning Trust Governance & Audit Committee.

Leanne Edwards – Local Governor

Leanne is an Operations Director for an Independent Further Education Training Provider. With 10 years working and consulting in the further education sector Leanne’s experience spans delivery, quality, compliance, administration, subcontracting and HR operations. Leanne has a successful track record of delivering change management and continuous improvement projects with a focus on providing the best possible experience for staff, learners, employers and stakeholders.

Kate Stanley-Harrison – Staff Governor

Kate has worked in the education sector in Hampshire for over 10 years, with roles in Secondary, Higher Education and Further Education. She joined Richard Taunton Sixth Form College as Marketing Officer in 2018.

Caroline Rand – Staff Governor

Flynn Martienssen and Tamara Smith – Student Governors

Both students have been appointed as Student Governors and provide the Local Governing Body with regular reports regarding student issues and feedback.

Register of Interests

Meetings Attendance

Governor Appointments and Terms of Office

For full details about the appointment of governors and their terms of office please take a look at the Get Information About Schools entry for Richard Taunton College.


Further accounts for the trust, since 2017, are available on the Lighthouse Learning Trust website.